Life Is Just Too Short

Over the past several years, my family has had a lot of medical issues. My Mom passed away in 2008 from COPD and Lung Cancer. My sister, at 50, five years ago, had to have a triple bypass. My brother in law, at 57, last year, had a stroke, my brother, at 52, just last week, went to the ER for chest pains. He had an artery that was 99 1/2% blocked. They put a stent in. My cousin, at 53, died yesterday from a heart attack.

My Step-Dad, who is 86, so, no spring chicken, has quite a few medical issues and the Dr advised us that he will most likely die from a heart attack. His heart is only working at about 15% capacity.

With all this happening, just makes me want to pick it up and run away. Change my number so I can’t hear anymore bad news. While I am planning to move away eventually, I won’t change my number.  But, it makes me wonder.  When will my number be up? When will whoever runs this show say, “Okay Jacqui, your times up.” I believe in reincarnation, but, each life is the only life you will remember. I look back and ask myself, what do I have to show for it?

IMG_2866 Ziplining in Haiti

I haven’t had a bad life. Really, I haven’t. I’ve traveled some. I’ve cruised around the US and British Virgin Islands. I’ve been on a cruise. I’ve been on TV as a blogger reviewing the Chevy Traverse. I’ve been flown to CA by eBay to train with the VP’s there as an eBay Parent Panel member.  I even went back to college after my divorce and got my Bachelors Degree. But, most importantly, even though I’m divorced, I have a wonderful daughter as a prize from that marriage.  So, have I had it bad?  No, not at all. Can I make it better?  Absolutely.  More traveling. Domestic and International. I’d like to meet family members that I haven’t had the chance to meet yet.

IMG_2868
Shot from the balcony on Cruise

Those are just a few things I want to do. I’m 42 and I hope to all that is Holy that I can avoid the path of 2 siblings and make my life more adventurous.

IMG_2869
 
Test Driving the Chevy Traverse for Chevrolet

What are you doing to make sure this lifetime is the best you can make it?

One thought on “Life Is Just Too Short

Leave a Reply

